GOVERNMENT OF WEST BENGAL

PANCHAYATS & RURAL DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT

Joint Administrative Building (6th to 10th Floors), HC-7, Sector-III Bidhannagar, Kolkata-700106



No. 5198-PN/O/III/2E-12/2012

Dated 28th August 2023

ORDER

In exercise of power conferred under Section 212 of the West Bengal Panchayat Act, 1973, for the purpose of recruitment through Employment Exchange or open advertisement in the newspapers or by promotion or otherwise to fill up the posts under the establishment of Gram Panchayat, Panchayat Samiti and Zilla Parishad/Mahakuma Parishad of this State, the Governor is pleased to reconstitute the District Level Selection Committee (DLSC) for all the three tiers taken together in each district (except hill areas of the districts of Darjeeling and Kalimpong falling under jurisdiction of the Gorkhaland Territorial Administration) in the following manner:

- 1. District Magistrate Chairperson
- 2. Additional Executive Officer, Zilla Parishad/Mahakuma Parishad Member
- Secretary of Zilla Parishad/Mahakuma Parishad (Deputy Secretary if the post of Secretary is vacant)

 Member
- 4. One SDO of the district to be nominated by the District Magistrate Member
- 5. District Panchayat and Rural Development Officer Member Secretary
- 6. One-woman WBCS (Exe.) Officer nominated by the District Magistrate Member
- 7. One WBCS (Exe.) Officer from Minority Community nominated by the District Magistrate

 Member
- 8. One Nodal Officer not below the rank of Joint Secretary to be nominated by the ACS/Principal Secretary/Secretary, Panchayat & Rural Development Department, WB

 Member
- In case of recruitment in technical posts, the Executive Engineer of the Zilla Parishad/Mahakuma Parishad shall mandatorily be an invitee Member. In the event of the post of Executive Engineer remaining vacant, an Engineer from Zilla Parishad/Mahakuma Parishad nominated by the Executive Officer shall be an invitee Member.
- One Member in the DLSC must be an officer belonging to SC/ST/OBC Community in terms of BCW Department's Order No. 3254- BCW/MR-137/2005 dated 06.09.2005.
- Presence of any four Members shall form a quorum, but the meeting shall be void if both the Chairperson and the Member Secretary remain absent.

The Governor is further pleased to reconstitute the District Level Selection Committee (DLSC) for the hill areas in each of the districts of Darjeeling and Kalimpong for recruitment under the Gram Panchayat and Panchayat Samiti in the following manner:

- 1. Principal Secretary, GTA Chairperson
- 2. District Magistrate Vice-Chairperson
- 3. One SDO of the district to be nominated by the District Magistrate Member

- 4. District Panchayat and Rural Development Officer
- Member Secretary
- 5. Executive Engineer, GTA Member (only for recruitment in technical posts) Member
- 6. One Woman WBCS (Exe.) Officer nominated by the District Magistrate Member
- 7. One WBCS (Exe.) Officer from Minority Community nominated by the District Magistrate

 Member
- 8. One Nodal Officer not below the rank of Joint Secretary to be nominated by the ACS/Principal Secretary/secretary, Panchayat & Rural Development Deptt. Member
- One Member in the District Level Selection Committee must be an officer belonging to SC/ST/OBC Community in terms of BCW Deptt.'s Order No. 3254- BCW/MR-137/2005 dt. 06.09.2005.
- Presence of any four Members shall form a quorum, but the meeting shall be void if both the Chairperson and the Member Secretary remain absent.

This supersedes all previous orders issued in this respect from time to time and takes immediate effect from the date of issue.

Sd/-

Secretary to the Government of West Bengal

Dated 28th August 2023

No. 5198/1(15)-PN/O/III/2E-12/2012

forwarded for information and taking necessary action to:

- 1. The Sabhadhipati, Zilla Parishad/Mahakuma Parishad (All)
- 2. The Principal Secretary, Gorkhaland Territorial Administration (GTA)
- 3. The Commissioner, Panchayats and Rural Development
- 4. The Special Secretary (Law Cell), P & RD Department
- 5. The Joint Secretary (Policy Cell), P & RD Department
- 6. The District Magistrate (All)
- 7. The Executive Officer, Zilla Parishad/Mahakuma Parishad (All)
- 8. The Additional Executive Office, Zilla Parishad/Mahakuma Parishad with request to circulate the copy of this order among all SDOs and BDOs
- 9. The Secretary, Zilla Parishad/Mahakuma Parishad (All)
- 10. The Sub-Divisional Officer (All)
- 11. The District Panchayat & Rural Development Officer (All)
- 12. PS to Hon'ble MIC, P & RD Deptt.
- 13. The BDO & Executive Officer, Panchayat Samiti (All)
- 14. Sr. P.A. to the Secretary, P & RD Department
- 15. Office copy

Special Secretary to the

Government of West Bengal

No. 5198/2(1)-PN/O/III/2E-12/2012

Dated 28th August 2023

Forwarded for information and taking necessary action to:

7. The Joint Secretary, IT Cell of this Department-He is requested to upload this Order copy in Department Website.

Special Secretary to the

Government of West Bengal